The secret to a soft and chewy Naan

image

I love homemade bread. Well, I quess my husband loves homemade bread and I love making him happy. So I guess it’s a win win. Plus, I mean homemade Naan? There’s not much better than soft, warm and chewy bread with butter. It’s stinking amazing.  The whole process takes me about an hour ( including inactive time 30 minites). The recipe yields 6 small Naan.  So here we go.

I have tried to bake it, but it comes out dry. The secret to a soft Naan is quick fry, 1 minute per side, on a super hot pan.

Instructions:
Start by activating dry yeast. Combine the warm water, salt, sugar and yeast in a small bowl. Let it sit for 10 min until foamy. In a separate large bowl, combine together flour and baking powder. Then add yogurt and whisk with fork lightly. Then add warm milk and whisk it just until incorporated. Pour the yeast mixture to the flour mixture. Mix with a wooden spoon just until dough starts to come together and then finish mixing the dough with your hands, until a smooth but a little bit sticky ball forms.
Cover the dough with damp towel or plastic wrap and let it sit in a warm place for 30 minutes at least. One hour would be ideal, but not every time I have this option .
After 30 minutes punch the dough down and divide it in 6 equal balls. Dust your working surface with flour. Using a rolling pin, roll each piece of the dough into oval shape about 1/4 inch thick, but not thinner. Repeat this method with the rest of the dough.
Warm your skillet over high heat. You need a very hot pan.  Brush one side of the Naan with butter and if desired sprinkle with garlic and spices. I didn’t flavour my naan this time, but only because I was serving it with very flavourful Lamb Madras and Tandoori Gobi ( cauliflower baked in spiced yogurt sauce). So I just brushed it with butter.
Place the Naan on the hot skillet with buttered side down, cover and bake for 1 minute.  Bubbles with start to form. Brush the other side of the Naan with butter and flip it over, cover and bake for 1 more minute. Place the Naan to the plate, brush the top with additional butter and sprinkle with fresh herbs. Cilantro goes really well here. Repeat the process with the rest of the Naan.

Done. Pretty easy, right?
And soo good 🙂

Ingredients:
2 cups of flour
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp Baking powder
1 tsp Yeast
1 tsp sugar
2 tbsp warm water
1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt
1/4 cup plus 2 tbsp warm milk

Melted butter for brushing
Garlic  and fresh chopped cilantro for topping

I love to hear from you guys!