Ricotta pancakes

I missed my blogging community! Hi guys, I hope that all of you are doing well and enjoying the winter. It’s minus 21C in Toronto and it feels like winter is just starting all over 🙂 I have been so busy with school and work lately that I didn’t have time to post..but my cooking/ baking did not stop. I have so many recipes that I will be sharing in the next little while..stay tuned.

I still read my favourites bloggs every morning to get new ideas 🙂 so thank you guys for sharing all your amazing and delicious looking recipes. I am sharing today very quick and easy recipe for super healthy and yammu ricotta pancakes! Fool of goodness and rich in flavour..I hope you give it a try… or make it for you Valentine. Happy Valentines day everyone! 

For the pancakes:

2/3 cup all purpose flour

1 cup ricotta cheese

3 tbsp whole milk

3 eggs

3  tbps sugar

zest of 1 lemon

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp baking powder and a pinch of salt

In a large bowl, beat eggs, vanilla extract and sugar until the mixture is pale yellow colour.

Whisk in ricotta just until its incorporated, then add milk and lemon zest and mix well. Last step is to add the flour, baking powder and salt to the mixture and mix until you have nice and even mixture. Preheat a pan over medium high heat, brush with some butter (some times I use coconut oil-it give a nice coconut flavour to the pancakes), and ladle 1/4 cup of the batter for each pancake. Cook for a couple minutes on each side or until golden colour.

I like my pancakes with blueberry syrup – blueberries, lemon zest and a a bit of confectioner sugar mixed together.Enjoy!

 

10 thoughts on “Ricotta pancakes

    1. So happy to hear you Michelle 🙂
      It’s definetelly my go to recipe for breakfast and it’s easy to put together (just don’t over mix and it comes out fluffy 🙂 )

      I hope you enjoy it!

      Like

    1. Thank you very much!
      Also one thing i forgot to mention is ricotta cheese that I use is 11% of fat content. If you use higher fat content the batter will be thicker so just add a bit more milk to thin it up 🙂

      As of flavor, yes I think you could play with flavors here since this recipe is very basic one!
      I made lemon, coconut, almond and orange pancakes using the same proportions for the base 🙂
      Have a great weekend and happy valentine’s day!

      Like

I love to hear from you guys!

