Tourtiere (Classic Quebec pork pie recipe)

Hey guys, hope all of you are doing well. I’ve been quiet busy with school in the past little while, but even though I did not have time to share recipes, I am still cooking and baking. I have so many recipes and pictures, and I can not wait to share them with you.

Later, we are going to the Christmas Market at Distillery district. It is opening tonight! I look forward to get into Holiday spirit even though it’s still November πŸ™‚ Speaking of holidays, I am sharing today super delicious recipe of Tourtiere (meat pie). This is a traditional Quebec pork pie recipe that we enjoy throughout the holidays. Essentially, tourtiere is a pie made of lightly spiced pork layered between flaky pastry. It’s total comfort food, guys. I hope you give it a try.

Yields: two 9 inch pies or four 4 inch mini pies.

Ingredients for the filling: 2 1/2 ground pork, 1 1/2 cup cold water, 1/2 cup finely chopped onion, 1/2 cup finely chopped celery, salt and pepper to taste, 2 bay leafs, 1/2 tsp thyme and 1/2 tsp rosemary, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 1 egg (beaten) for brushing.

For the pie pastry: 2 cups flour, 1/2 tsp salt, 2/3 cup butter, 5-7 tbsp cold water.Β 20151103_133718

In a large, heavy pan combine pork with cold water and heat to boiling point. Add onion, celery, pepper, bay leaf, thyme, rosemary and nutmeg. Cook, covered, over medium heat for 1 hour. Halfway through cooking time, season with salt and add a bit more water if needed.

Meantime, prepare pie crust. Start by combining flour, salt and butter, and mix it with fork. I always use fork or prefer to do it by hands, so I know how much water to add. But, food processor, works too. Add tablespoon of water at a time until the dough comes together. The perfect dough should not be crumbly but smooth, not sticky and easy to work with. Β Wrap it in plastic wrap and chill in the refrigerator for 20 minutes at least.

Discard bay leafs and adjust the seasoning if needed. Allow the filling to cool a bit. Meanwhile, line pie plates with pastry. Preheat the oven to 425F.

When meat mixture is lukewarm, divide it between pie shells and spread it out evenly. Brush around outer edges of pastry with the beaten egg. Place top crust on the pie and press gently around the edge to seal. Cut steam vents in the top crust, brush with egg and decorate as desired.

Bake in preheated oven for 15 minutes, then reduce heat to 375F and bake another 25 minutes for 9 inch pies or 20 minutes for 4 inch pies. Ready!

20151103_133930

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Tourtiere (Classic Quebec pork pie recipe)

  1. Dear Evgenia,
    I’m so inspired by your tourtiere. When I was growing up in Texas, we often had frozen chicken pot pie, but i’ve never made my own. I love to work with pork because it is so tender, and love to use the food processor for a perfect crust, just as you have suggested. Thank you for your inspiration and creativity.
    RuthAnn
    inspiringcuisine.com
    Cookbook for Christmas Gift

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Tricia πŸ™‚ It is definetelly perfect for winter days.

      I loved the blanket for give away. I would have to go back and reblog it as I don’t have twitter and instagram… thank you and congratulations on 100 followers

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you, I’m still pretty amazed anyone wants to read what I write (100 people doing so still boggles my mind a bit to be honest!) The blanket is definitely my favorite part of the giveaway and it’s okay if you don’t have twitter or Instagram, reblogging works perfectly fine for entering! πŸ˜€

        Like

      2. That’s awesome. I will do it πŸ™‚

        If to be honest, I don’t remember ever winning or participating in thins like this. But I am excited this time : )

        Your blog is sweet.. I enjoy reading it and I’m sure others find their reasons too

        Liked by 1 person

I love to hear from you guys!

