Perfect holiday gift- homemade raspberry jam!

I can never get enough of the incredible flavours that available at the market in the summer time. One of my favourite ways to hold on to the season’s freshest berries is by making jam. It is easier to do than it sounds. You just need few basic ingredients that you probably have at home and some fresh berries. Today, I choose black and red raspberries. Savour the summer and make some jam! I plan to give it away as gifts for holiday season, and will present my jam in personalized cute mason jars. Touch of summer in the mid of winter. Can’t wait for holidays to come!

Ingredients:
8 cups raspberries (I have black and red)
4 cups sugar
½ tsp lemon juice
Pinch of salt

Place a couple small plates in the freezer; you will use them later to test doneness of jam. In a large, heavy stockpot stir together berries, sugar, lemon juice and salt. Bring to a boil, mashing lightly with a potato masher. Cook, stirring frequently as jam thickens on medium high heat, until it reaches the consistency of very loose jelly (for about 10 minutes). Skim foam from surface and remove stockpot from the heat.
Take a plate from freezer; drop a spoonful of jam on it and return to freezer for a minute. Nudge edge of jam with a finger; it should hold its shape. If jam is too thin and spreads, return it to boil, testing every few minutes, until done.
Spoon hot jam into hot sterilized jars; cover immediately with sterilized lids. Done!

How to sterilize jars: wash the jars thoroughly with warm water and dish soap and rinse clean. Place it in a large pot with water and bring to boil. It has to be covered by at least inch with water. Once it starts to boil, reduce the heat down to medium, and simmer for 10 minutes. Turn the heat off and keep jars in the water to keep it hot while you are preparing your jam. It is important for jars to be hot, so the glass doesn’t shatter when you pour hot jam in it. Be careful and good luck 🙂

4 thoughts on “Perfect holiday gift- homemade raspberry jam!

  1. Hello Evgenia,

    thank you so much for stopping by on Royally Ravenous today 🙂
    I thought, I’d leave a comment around here to tell you we appreciate it. Besides, I love raspberry jam! I add a tablespoon of rosewater to my batches, it really brings out the lovely fragrance of the berries. I hope to hear from you again!

    Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi 🙂
      Thank you for the tip. I’ve never used rose water before ..I would have to make some research on how else could I use it. You got me interested 🙂
      I loved your ginger nuts cookie recipe. It is on my list for this upcoming weekend.

      Like

      1. Hey 🙂
        oh, I’m gad to hear that, I hope you’ll enjoy them! If you don’t want to buy rosewater just for jam, I use it to scent home-made cosmetics, for body spray, or in sangria. You could always make Turkish delight or baklava 😉

        Liked by 1 person

I love to hear from you guys!

