The power of your passion

“I believe it is important for everyone to find something they are passionate about. For me, it is team sports. When I was younger I became a synchronized swimmer. It taught me about teamwork, dedication, friendship, sacrifice, expression and probably every good quality that makes me who I am. I just loved the water and always felt safe there. If I had a bad day at school, or when my boyfriend broke up with me, or when my cat died, or when I was feeling stressed out, as soon as I jumped into that pool all those problems seemed to disappear. It was my outlet. I didn’t realize how important a role it played in my life until I stopped swimming when I was 18. As soon as I stopped, I felt lost and didn’t care much about stuff. I always did well academically, but I felt less motivated to get the top mark. During my first year of university I did not receive stellar marks. In second year, I decided to try rowing. I suddenly noticed that I was happy again and more outgoing. My marks even started to improve. The following couple years I joined the synchro team. After I was done university, I stopped sports; and noticed again that I was not as happy as I used to be. I would even say I was a bit depressed. Then one day I decided I need to meet new people, so I joined a beach volleyball team. The following year a friend asked me to play ultimate Frisbee. A couple years later the World Masters synchro competition was being held in Sweden, so a group of us decided to put a masters synchro team together. During this time I felt really good and happy. I have now found a new passion and it is underwater hockey. I have been doing it for a couple years and I’m probably the happiest I can be. I have gained many wonderful friendships from all these sports and I’m so thankful that I found something that makes me happy”.

I love to hear from you guys!

